Phone: 630-495-2282 Fax: 630-495-2260 Map/Directions
 

State legislative session nearing conclusion

November 23, 2010
The Illinois General Assembly's spring session likely will expire without passage of the bill to re-plate pickup trucks with passenger plates and permit them to traverse Chicago's network of boulevards and Lake Shore Drive. The measure, House Bill 3527, has idled in committee for more than a month, after an amendment transformed the bill into one concerning license plates for disabled persons. Several other bills would affect dealers, but none has been forwarded to Gov. Blagojevich for his consideration. The spring session is scheduled to conclude May 31. • Senate Bill 1149 establishes deadlines to release vehicle titles. Under the bill, a title must be released within 21 days after receipt of payment to satisfy a security interest in a vehicle whose certificate of title is in the possession of a lienholder. If payment is in cash, cashier's check or certified check, the action must be taken within five days. Any lienholder who fails to act within those time frames would be subject to a $250 fine. The bill has passed the Senate and awaits a second reading in the House. • House Bill 136 forbids any new- or used-vehicle dealer or vehicle auctioneer from selling, trading or otherwise disposing of any vehicle bearing equipment, markings, or other indicia of police authority unless those indicia have been sufficiently removed, to eliminate all appearance of police authority. Violators would face a $500 to $1,000 fine. The bill passed the House and was scheduled for a final reading in the Senate on May 7. • House Bill 3106 would permit mechanics to retag cars with VINs as long as they notify the secretary of state's office and keep records about the replacement. Currently, only Illinois State Police may retag a car's VIN. The change would speed the time for mechanics to return repaired cars to their owners. The bill passed the House and was scheduled for a final reading in the Senate on May 7. A bill (HB 94) to amend title applications to include the applicant's age stalled after the secretary of state indicated the bill would cost $846,712 to implement. The bill insists at least one of a car's owners be at least 18 years old.
 

Back