Phone: 630-495-2282 Fax: 630-495-2260 Map/Directions

Roberts named new CATA board secretary

July 24, 2020
One month after settling in for a new annual term, one officer’s resignation has led to the elevation of a different director to become board secretary.
At its June 17 meeting, the board voted for Kelly Webb Roberts, proprietor of four Webb franchises in Indiana and another two in Illinois, to be the newest board secretary, joining Chairman Kevin Keefe (Brilliance Honda, Crystal Lake; Brilliance Subaru, Elgin); Vice Chairman JC Phelan (Jack Phelan Chevrolet, Lyons; Jack Phelan Chrysler-Dodge-Jeep-Ram, Countryside); and Treasurer Jay Hopkins (Hopkins Ford, Elgin).
Hopkins this month unexpectedly left his family’s business and resigned his position on the board. That gave Webb Roberts the chance to skip the secretary slot and ascend to treasurer. The board at its July 20 meeting approved that move and granted her the ability to serve a fifth year as an officer in an advisory role after she completes her term as auto show chairwoman.

With the secretary role vacant, the directors at this month’s meeting also voted for Jason Roberts (Advantage Chevrolet in Hodgkins and Bolingbrook; Advantage Toyota, Calumet City) to serve in that role.
Webb Roberts has been on the CATA board since 2016; Roberts, since 2017. Directors can serve up to three three-year terms.
Founded in 1904, the Chicago Automobile Trade Association is one of the nation’s oldest associations advocating for franchised new-car dealers, predating even the NADA by 13 years. The CATA board, now at 14 directors, will be reduced to 13 directors next year, and perhaps 12.
Other directors on the 2020-’21 CATA board include John Crane, Bill Haggerty, Dan Heller, Ryan Kelly, Fred Marks, Dan Marquardt, Scott Muller, Steve Phillipos, Thomas F. Shirey, and Richard Wickstrom.