Phone: 630-495-2282 Fax: 630-495-2260 Map/Directions

Phelan elected CATA chairman for 2008-2009 board term

November 16, 2010

John Phelan’s fellow directors of the Chicago Automobile Trade Association voted him chairman of the board for the next 12 months, when the directors met June 11 for their monthly meeting.

The new board chairman succeeds Mark Scarpelli, who becomes chairman of the 2009 Chicago Auto Show. Phelan will act as the show’s co-chairman.

Phelan, principal of Jack Phelan Chevrolet in Lyons and Jack Phelan Dodge-Isuzu-Suzuki in Berwyn, leads a board of 18 dealers. Other board officers include Vice Chairman Kevin Mize (O’Hare Honda-Hyundai, Des Plaines); Treasurer Steve Foley Jr. (Steve Foley Cadillac and Rolls-Royce, and Bentley Northbrook); and Mike Ettleson (Ettleson Cadillac-Buick-Pontiac-GMC, Hodgkins; and Ettleson Hyundai, Countryside). Jerry Cizek is association president.

Five directors—Terry D’Arcy, Lee Drabek, John Guido, Bill Jacobs and Arthur Kelly—retired from the board after service since 1999. During their terms, both D’Arcy and Kelly ascended to board chairman.