Phone: 630-495-2282 Fax: 630-495-2260 Map/Directions



IADA president to retire

November 12, 2021
Pete Sander, who has been president of the Illinois Automobile Dealers Association since 1985 and an employee there since 1975, will retire at year’s end, the IADA announced Nov. 5. He will be succeeded by Joe McMahon, the IADA’s current director of government affairs.
After graduating from Northwood University in Michigan, Sander began at the IADA as a field representative networking with members. He counts as one of his proudest professional achievements acquiring the land to build a four-story office for the association a few blocks from the Illinois State Capitol.
Sander was elected in 1994 as president of the Automotive Trade Association Executives, the national group of his counterparts in other states. In 2004, he was recognized by Northwood University, for his contribution and dedication to the auto industry. He also has been recognized for his work with the Secretary of State’s office in representing dealers’ interests on the SOS Dealer Advisory Committee. And under his tutelage, the IADA-CVR program came to fruition and has been a valuable member service and partnership for the association.
"It has been my pleasure and honor to lead the IADA and be involved with such a dedicated staff to work with and for the many volunteer dealer members who have participated with the IADA over the past 46 years," Sander said. "I thank you for the opportunity."
"With his leadership," said Rick Yemm, the association’s 2021 chairman, "the IADA is recognized as one of the stronger state dealer associations in the country as well as in the Springfield association community."