Phone: 630-495-2282 Fax: 630-495-2260 Map/Directions



Congressional committee heads to change, as Dems will lead House in 2019

November 16, 2018
With control of the U.S. House changing to Democrats, the automobile industry will see new faces in leadership in the various committees that oversee it. Republicans increased their majority in the Senate.
In the House, Rep. Frank Pallone, D-N.J., is expected to become the next chairman of the House Energy and Commerce Committee; Congresswoman Maxine Waters, D-Calif., is slated to become chairwoman of the Financial Services Committee; and Rep. Richard Neal, D-Mass., will helm the powerful Ways and Means Committee. Congressman Peter DeFazio, D-Ore., will take over as chairman of the House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee. These House panels have jurisdiction over the auto industry, financial services issues, and tax and trade policy.
In the Senate, retirements, election results and leadership changes will result in important changes to key committees. Sen. Roger Wicker, R-Miss., will likely take over the Senate Commerce, Science, and Transportation Committee. The leader of the Senate Finance Committee, which oversees tax and trade policy, is likely to be Sen. Charles Grassley, R-Iowa.
In all, nearly 90 new federal legislators will be sworn in on Jan. 3. Notably, one of those new members will be Carol Miller, R-W.Va., whose family owns and operates multiple dealerships in the state. Re-elected members of Congress’s lower chamber with dealership backgrounds include Republicans Vern Buchanan (Florida), Troy Balderson (Ohio), Mike Kelly (Pennsylvania), and Roger Williams (Texas); and Democrat Don Beyer (Virginia).