Phone: 630-495-2282 Fax: 630-495-2260 Map/Directions

8 candidates on ballot for 6 CATA board seats

November 22, 2010
Eight candidates, including five incumbents, have been nominated to fill six openings on the board of directors of the Chicago Automobile Trade Association. Each term lasts three years beginning next month. A summary of the candidates' qualifications was mailed May 19 to dealer members, and election ballots will be sent May 27 to dealer members whose association dues are up-to-date. Completed ballots must be received by 12 p.m. June 10 by the CATA's auditing firm, Crowe Chizek & Co., which will tally the submissions. Results will be announced at the June 14 golf outing at Cog Hill Golf & Country Club in Lemont. One of the incumbents on the ballot, Bill Hawkinson of Hawkinson Ford in Oak Lawn, is seeking his third and final term on the board. The four other incumbents-Kevin Mize, of O'Hare Pontiac-Hyundai and O'Hare Honda; John Phelan of Jack Phelan Chevrolet in Lyons; Mark Scarpelli of Raymond Chevrolet in Antioch; and Dave Taylor of Taylor Chrysler- Dodge in Kankakee-were first elected to the board in 2001. Other nominees Include Jack Cronan, proprietor of Oakfield Ford in Villa Park; Mike Ettleson, president of Ettleson Buick-Cadillac in Hodgkins; and Kurt Schiele, president of the Elmhurst Auto Group (BMW, Jaguar, Scion and Toyota). A committee comprised of former CATA board chairmen met in April to identify candidates for nomination. The CATA board totals 18 directors. One-third of the terms expire each year. A director may serve a maximum of three, three-year terms. One director, Mike McGrath, completes nine years of board service in June. McGrath ascended to board chairman in 2002-2003.