Phone: 630-495-2282 Fax: 630-495-2260 Map/Directions

8 candidates on ballot for 6 CATA board seats

November 18, 2010

Eight candidates, including three incumbents, have been nominated to fill six openings on the board of directors of the Chicago Automobile Trade Association. Each term lasts three years beginning this month.


Election ballots were sent May 25 to all CATA dealer members whose association dues are up-to-date. Completed ballots must be received by 12 p.m. June 8 by the CATA’s auditing firm, Crowe Chizek & Co., which will tally the submissions. Results will be announced at the CATA’s June 12 golf outing at Cog Hill Golf & Country Club in Lemont.


The incumbents on the ballot are Mary Fran Dolan (Freeway Ford-Sterling Truck Sales, Lyons), Bob Loquercio (Chicago Northside Toyota, Elgin Toyota, Elgin Hyundai), and Desmond Roberts (Advantage Chevrolet, Hodgkins). Loquercio is seeking his third and final term on the board; Dolan and Roberts are pursuing their second terms.


Additional nominees include Rich Ruscitti (South Chicago Dodge-Chrysler-Jeep and South Chicago Nissan), Monty Scher (Rogers Buick-Chevrolet-Pontiac-GMC-Hyundai, Chicago), Kurt Schiele, president of the Elmhurst Auto Group (BMW, Jaguar, Scion and Toyota), Tom Van Prooyen (Schepel Buick-Cadillac-GMC-Hummer-Pontiac, Merrillville, Ind.), and John Webb (Packey Webb Ford, Wheaton; Webb Dodge, Glen Ellyn).


A committee comprised of former CATA board chairmen met in April to identify candidates for nomination.


The CATA board totals 18 directors. One-third of the terms expire each year. A director may serve a maximum of three three-year terms.