Phone: 630-495-2282 Fax: 630-495-2260 Map/Directions

7 candidates on ballot for 6 CATA board seats

November 16, 2010
Votes due June 5

Seven candidates, including one incumbent, have been nominated to fill six openings on the board of directors of the Chicago Automobile Trade Association. Each term lasts three years beginning this month.

Election ballots were sent May 22 to all CATA dealer members whose association dues are up-to-date. Completed ballots must be received by 12 p.m. June 5 by the CATA’s auditing firm, Crowe Chizek & Co., which will tally the submissions. Results will be announced at the CATA’s June 9 golf outing at Cog Hill Golf & Country Club in Lemont.

One incumbent is seeking re-election, this to his final three-year term. Steve Foley Jr., (Steve Foley Cadillac and Rolls-Royce, and Bentley Northbrook) currently is CATA secretary, one of the four board officers.

Newcomers on the ballot include Ed Burke (Naperville Jeep-Dodge-Hummer), Tom Gollinger (Woodfield Chevrolet-Hummer), Dan Marks (Libertyville Lincoln-Mercury), Mike McGrath Jr. (McGrath Acura, Honda, Hyundai, Lexus), Fred Vargason (Nissan of St. Charles), and Colin Wickstrom (Wickstrom Ford-Lincoln-Mercury).

A director can serve a maximum of three terms. A committee comprised of former CATA board chairmen met last month to identify candidates for nomination.