Phone: 630-495-2282 Fax: 630-495-2260 Map/Directions

6 vying for 5 CATA director seats in 2015 election

May 22, 2015
Six candidates, including three incumbents, have been nominated to fill five openings on the board of directors of the Chicago Automobile Trade Association. Each term lasts three years beginning next month.
A summary of the candidates’ qualifications was mailed May 14 to CATA dealer members, and election ballots were sent May 22 to those dealer members whose association dues are up-to-date.
Completed ballots must be received by 12 p.m. June 5 by the CATA’s auditing firm, Crowe Horwath LLP, which will tally the submissions. Results will be announced at the June 9 golf outing at Cog Hill Golf & Country Club in Lemont.
One of the incumbents on the ballot, John Alfirevich (Apple Chevrolet, Tinley Park), is seeking his third and final term on the board. The two other incumbents, Kevin Keefe (Brilliance Honda, Crystal Lake; Brilliance Subaru, Elgin) and Thomas F. Shirey (Shirey Cadillac, Oak Lawn), are pursuing their second board terms.
Additional nominees include Glenn J. Bockwinkel (Acura of Libertyville), Jay Hopkins (Ron Hopkins Ford, Elgin), and JC Phelan (Jack Phelan Chevrolet, Lyons; Jack Phelan Chrysler-Dodge-Jeep-Ram of Countryside).
A committee of former CATA board chairmen convened in April to identify candidates for nomination.
The CATA board totals 15 directors. A director may serve a maximum of three, three-year terms.