Phone: 630-495-2282 Fax: 630-495-2260 Map/Directions

5 newcomers among 6 elected to CATA board of directors

November 16, 2010
518 participate in annual outing

Inclement skies and soggy greens greeted 432 golfers on June 9 to Cog Hill Golf and Country Club in Lemont, where the players gathered as part of the 2008 CATA annual outing.

And 36 CATA allied members that sponsored the event (see Page 4 of the print edition of this newsletter) helped add a festivity to the proceedings.

That night at the dinner, results of this month’s balloting for the CATA board of directors showed a lone incumbent and five newcomers won election to three-year terms. Steve Foley Jr., the board secretary, was elected to his third and final term.

Other election winners were Ed Burke (Naperville Jeep-Dodge-Hummer), Tom Gollinger (Woodfield Chevrolet-Hummer), Dan Marks (Libertyville Lincoln-Mercury), Mike McGrath Jr. (McGrath Acura, Honda, Hyundai, Lexus), and Colin Wickstrom (Wickstrom Ford-Lincoln-Mercury).

Mark Scarpelli, whose term as chairman concluded at the outing, spoke about the new Chicagoland Dealers Care campaign, which donates to community causes that CATA dealers support. "We would like to help you fund those acts of good deeds," he said.

The June 9 outing featured several hole contests on the three courses. No one fired a hole-in-one, but other winners—who each collected $250 gift certificates—were:

Course 1
Straightest Drive               Charles Goodrich
Longest Drive                    Ben Neeley, Bill Cranley
Closest to Honor Box         Jim Coakley
Longest Putt                      Geno Kotecki

Course 2
Straightest Drive               Ed Braddock
Longest Drive                    Jason O’Connor, Jay Basney
Closest to Honor Box          Terry Dorch
Longest Putt                      Stan Balzekas

Course 3
Straightest Drive               Jeff Farley
Longest Drive                    Joe Johnson, Mike Mazzuca
Closest to Honor Box         Nicole Peters
Longest Putt                      Steve Salidas